The Prophets

God's word is always constant in its covenant promise. We are the ones who run away in the face of prosperity, become callous in the normalcy, and disbelieve in the suffering. The prophets call is to account. We start with an introduction that takes us through the whole period. It's followed by a collection of prophets.

This is an overview and seen as a tool to get the basics. We skip over a few, primarily because their message, Jonah for example, is to a group outside the kingdom. Since this was designed for a middle school class, the pointers were helpful in remaining simple and stayed. They were identifying the prophets with one of four categories:

  • Northern Kingdom
  • Southern Kingdom
  • Babylonian Exile
  • Return from Exile

The prophets we touch on are:

  • Elijah
  • Joel
  • Elisha
  • Amos
  • Hosea
  • Isaiah
  • Micah
  • Zephaniah
  • Habakkuk
  • Jeremiah
  • Daniel
  • Ezekiel
  • Zechariah
  • Haggai
  • Malachi

Abraham obeys God and begins a covenant relationship, introducing monotheism

Moses is on the scene

The Israelites make it back to the Promised Land

The Kingdom is established by Saul, through Samuel

Jerusalem is made the capitol by David

Temple 1 built by Solomon

10 tribes (Israel) exiled by Assyria

2 tribes (Judah) exiled by the Chaldeans and Temple 1 destroyed

Nehemiah/Ezra return from exile

Temple 2 is built with the help of Cyrus

Maccabees revolution and Temple purified/candles rekindled, remembered at Hanukkah

Rome conquers and paves the way for Israel's stability and the coming Messiah